An opportunity to retrace the ancient route of the aqueduct (late '800) that supplied water to the town of Camogli. The works to build the Acquedotto delle Caselle were designed and executed by the firm F.lli Sandrini and Magherini of Florence and began on the first of October 1897. The inauguration took place on October 8th 1899. Large panoramic windows and the immersion in the darkness of galleries excavated in the conglomerate have contributed to make it one of the most spectacular and exciting routes of Monte di Portofino. The path - which requires a certain amount of practice and physical fitness - is accessible only if accompanied by the guides of the Portofino Park and has a highly spectacular and striking path between tunnels, ladders and overhanging passages.
The appointment is at 09.00 am in front of the Church of San Rocco di Camogli
End of the excursion at about 1.00 pm in the "Caselle" area. At the end the participants can go down independently to San Fruttuoso or return to San Rocco.
Itinerary: San Rocco - Sentiero dei Tubi - Caselle
Difficulty: demanding excursion
Recommended equipment: trekking shoes and flashlight